The Texas Animal Health Commission’s mission is to protect agricultural animals (livestock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, and exotic fowl) from diseases recognized as communicable by the veterinary profession. To achieve its mission, the Commission makes and enforces rules concerning testing, entry into Texas, movement, inspection, and recordkeeping requirements.
Read more about TAHC’s mission.
Anyone with information concerning a suspected violation of TAHC rules/requirements is encouraged to file a complaint according to the process described below.
Types of Complaints Under TAHC Jurisdiction
The Commission will evaluate the following types of complaints from the public:
- Entry requirements
- Agricultural animals entering the state of Texas are subject to health / testing requirements. Generally agricultural animals entering Texas must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or Health Certificate ("CVI") issued by a veterinarian within 30 to 45 days prior to entry. These CVIs are available from TAHC to veterinarians in Texas. Most entry requirements are found in Chapter 51 of the Commission’s rules.
- Testing requirements for the sale or transfer of ownership
- Equine animals must have a negative Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA, "Coggins") test upon change of ownership. The results must be accompanied by a completed VS Form 10-11 (official Equine Infectious Anemia Laboratory Test document) for each horse.
- All cattle 18 months of age and older must have a negative Brucellosis test within the thirty-day period prior to change of ownership.
- All breeding swine must have negative brucellosis and pseudorabies (PRV) prior to change of ownership.
- Movement restrictions
- Animals that have been exposed to a disease may be restricted from movement to other premises. TAHC will issue a "Hold Order" to restrict movement of animals suspected of exposure to a disease. A "Quarantine" is used to restrict movement of known positive animals.
- Other testing requirements
- Equine animals that participate in shows, fairs, exhibitions or assemblies, such as rodeos, barrel racing or trail rides must have a Coggins test within the last 12 months.
- Roping steers from Mexico with a "M" Brand on their right hip must be accompanied by an annual test for Tuberculosis.
Complaints about TAHC operations and/or personnel should be directed to: email@example.com
Issues Not Under TAHC Jurisdiction
Complaints and concerns not related to the health of agricultural animals such as
- animal welfare
- stray livestock
- pet vaccinations
are outside the regulatory authority of TAHC and should be directed to the appropriate authority.
Below is a list of complaint types commonly misdirected to TAHC as well as the correct authority for such complaints.
- Animal Control — Contact local city or county government.
- Animal Cruelty / Animal Welfare (including abuse of domestic pets) — The TAHC has no jurisdiction over animal welfare. Animal cruelty concerns are handled by local law enforcement. Contact local animal control authorities or your sheriff's department (see the government section of the phone book under city or county law enforcement).
- Estray Laws (stray livestock) — Loose livestock or livestock found on someone else’s property are handled by the local county Sheriff’s Office.
- Pests and diseases which are transmissible from animals to humans (including rabies & West Nile Virus) — Texas Department of State Health Services — Zoonosis Control Group (phone: 512-458-7255)
- Veterinary Practice — Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (phone: 800-821-3205)
- Wildlife (including abuse, injured or dead wildlife) — Texas Parks & Wildlife (phone 800-792-1112)
TAHC Complaint Process
1. Filing a Complaint
Please report any activity that is in violation of the Commission’s requirements.
Submit your complaint one of the following ways:
- E-mail — Submit a written complaint electronically to firstname.lastname@example.org
- Mail — Send a written complaint to:
Texas Animal Health Commission
Legal and Compliance Department, MC-554
P.O. Box 12966
Austin, TX 78711-2966
- Phone — 1-800-550-8242 and follow the automated prompts to submit a complaint.
In order to be fully evaluated and acted upon, complaints must include sufficient information to enable the Commission to document the complaint and determine whether a violation has occurred. The TAHC Complaint Form is provided for the submission of written complaints. Although it is not necessary that written complaints be submitted using the Complaint Form, TAHC encourages the use of the form to ensure all pertinent information is received.
Download a Complaint Form or call the toll-free TAHC number and one will be sent to you.
Anonymity and Public Records
It is not necessary to reveal your identity to file a complaint. If you choose to remain anonymous, you forfeit continuing communication regarding the disposition of the complaint.
2. TAHC Response to a Filed Complaint
Within ten working days of receipt of the complaint, TAHC will send an acknowledgement of receipt to the complainant.
TAHC will then make an initial assessment of the complaint details to determine if there is a violation of a Commission rule. If a violation has occurred, TAHC will take appropriate actions to remedy the problem and prevent further violations. See the Texas Agriculture Code for specific actions available to TAHC.
TAHC will update the parties to the complaint quarterly regarding the status of the complaint and will notify all the parties of the final disposition of the complaint.
Report Suspected Fraud
The Texas State Auditor’s Office (SAO) is authorized to investigate allegations of impropriety and illegal acts affecting state resources. If you suspect any such fraud, you may file a complaint with the SAO at: https://sao.fraud.state.tx.us/hotline.aspx.